Logo Alternate logo
Founded 1998
Based in Nashville, Tennessee
Team Colors Blue, silver, gold
Logo design A saber toothed cat
Mascot Gnash
Closest Rivals Detroit Red Wings & the Columbus Blue Jackets
Head coach Barry Trotz
Captain Jason Arnott
Minor league affiliates Milwaukee Admirals of the AHL

The Nashville Predators, named after the fossil skull of a saber-toothed cat, first took the ice on October 10, 1998. They lost that game 1-0 to the Florida Panthers but then came back three nights later to defeat the Carolina Hurricanes 3-2 for their first victory. It would take the team six seasons (2003-04) under coach Barry Trotz, before they made their first appearance in the playoffs. They however had to face the heavily favored and top seeded Detroit Red Wings in the first round and eventually lost in a tough fought 6 games.

During the 2005-06 season, the Predators became only the fourth NHL franchise team to start the season with eight straight victories. By the end of the season, they had accumulated 106 points, and clinched home-ice advantage for the first round of the playoffs for the first time in team history. They also finished with an NHL best 32-8-1 record at home among all thirty NHL teams. Once again, during the 2005-06 Stanley Cup Playoffs the 4th seeded Predators were eliminated from the playoffs in the first round. They faced the 5th seeded San Jose Sharks whom went on to eventually lose to the Anaheim Mighty Ducks. However the Nashville Predators have now proven over the past few seasons that they are no longer Franchise material and are now among the top contending teams of the NHL and have come along way since their first season.

Nashville First round draft picks

  • 2009:
  • 2008:
  • 2007: Jonathon Blum   (23rd overall)
  • 2006: No First round pick
  • 2005: Ryan Parent   (18th overall)
  • 2004: Alexander Radulov   (15th overall)
  • 2003: Ryan Suter   (7th overall)
  • 2002: Scottie Upshall   (6th overall)
  • 2001: Dan Hamhuis   (12th overall)
  • 2000: Scott Hartnell   (6th overall)
  • 1999: Brian Finley   (6th overall)
  • 1998: David Legwand   (2nd overall)